What do you do for a living?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What do you do for a living?

(I know you can write this on your profile but anyway)
    Was sitting around talking with some guys at work today, and most of them seem to think that meatheads like me can only do manual labor and not think, so I'm curious, what level of education do you have, and what do you do for a living?

In Sweden we have school class 1(your 7 when you start)-9 that you have to go and then you choose a study line for 3 more years, after that you can go to university and such.
    I chose construction line but quit before graduation due to personal problems. Now I work as a team leader in construction with demolition, concrete and asbestos as main things, I usually have between 2-10 guys working under me. Other than that I have the farm where I live, there we have horses, lambs, chickens and ducks. And to top it of I'm trying to start up a small buissnes for my girl, to sell the clothes and misc stuff she does
    Size ain't nothin' without strength. Strength ain't nothin' without size

That seems to be the same mentality taken in my line of work also. Im in the oilfield. I have a degree in petroleum engineering. This is what i do "Petroleum engineers design and develop methods for extracting oil and gas from deposits below the earth’s surface. Petroleum engineers also find new ways to extract oil and gas from older wells." - copy and pasted from OOH. I wouldnt consider my work manual although i do get out into the shop and help fabricate new tools that we design. I dont have to but i'd rather get my hands dirty than look at a computer screen all day
    "I COUNT HIM BRAVER WHO OVERCOMES HIS OWN DESIRE THAN WHO CONQUERS HIS ENEMIES, FOR THE HARDEST VICTORY IS OVER SELF"

"SUCCESS ISN'T ALWAYS ABOUT GREATNESS. IT'S ABOUT CONSISTENCY. CONSISTENT HARD WORK GAINS SUCCESS. GREATNESS WILL COME"

Comment