Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

College Scandals Like Steroids: Should We Care?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• College Scandals Like Steroids: Should We Care?

College Scandals Like Steroids: Should We Care?
    Jon Kerr

I was driving, listening to the radio, stuck in Chicago traffic (which is as redundant as Justin Bieber and badness, I know) when the on-air hosts said "another big college scandal, this time at Miami."

I actually hit my preset button for a different station.

I thought about when I was a freshman at the University of Missouri in the late '80s. There was a certain star player -- a future NBA player -- who liked to drive around campus in a certain brand new, dark blue Chevy Blazer. My friends and I would joke about it -- haha, he must be on the payroll -- but we never missed a game.

I thought about when I transferred to Michigan State and was at a party. A certain Spartan football player -- a future first round draft choice -- called my dare one night. We were having a perfectly reasoned conversation about sports and other stuff guys talk about at college parties. Then my wise-ass nature got the best of me. I half-joked (I sort of knew the truth) that MSU was paying its players. He proceeded to reach in his pocket, pulled out a wad of bills the size of a small pillow case and slapped them on the counter. He then shouted "you think we get paid? Here's your answer!"

I remember being more shocked at how brazen the guy was about what was going on then about the act itself. It's one thing to shoplift in a deserted department store. It's another to walk out of Nordstrom's with a shopping bag of clothes.

But the experience didn't stop me from going to every game that fall.